Tanzania Take Over SAFAC Chairmanship

Ex-SAFAC chair Mr. Eric Harid hand over Dr. Edward Hoseah SAFAC Constitution

At the 8th Southern African Forum Against Corruption (SAFAC) Annual General Meeting, Tanzania became SAFAC chair for 2010 and 2011. This came about when the ex-SAFAC chair Mr. Eric Harid who is also the head of Anti- Corruption Commission in Zimbabwe handed over to Dr. Edward Hoseah, the PCCB Director General the SAFAC Constitution as a symbol of chairing the organization.

According to the SAFAC Constitution Article number 8 (2); The Chair of SAFAC shall be elected annually at the Annual General Meeting.  The Chair, so elected, shall retain that position until the next Annual General Meeting unless removed by Special Resolution.

The 8th SAFAC AGM was held in Arusha Region, Tanzania at Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge from 23rd to 25th August, 2010.


The Southern African Forum against Corruption (SAFAC) held its eleventh Annual General Meeting from 16th to 18th December, 2013 in Lusaka - capital city of the Republic of Zambia. This meeting was attended by representatives and delegates from eleven out of fourteen member countries forming the forum namely Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania and Zambia who hosted the meeting. Malawi, Seychelles and Zimbabwe did not attend.

The three days meeting was officially opened on the 16th December, 2013 by His Honor the Vice-President of Zambia Dr. Guy Scott, at a colorful opening ceremony which was also attended by The Deputy Speaker - Office of the Vice President, Honorable Davies Mwango and The Chairperson - Anti-Corruption Commission Zambia, Honorable Justice Timothy Kabalata,

The 11th SAFAC AGM was chaired by Mr. Litelu Joseph Ramokhoro from the Directorate on Corruption and Economic Offence (DCEO) – Kingdom of Lesotho and the theme for this meeting was Clean Leadership is Key to Eliminating Loopholes of Corruption in the SADC Region”. For more information please visit safaconline.org